The Best Cheesy Garlic Bread Ever.

The only thing that makes Cheesy Garlic Bread even better is when I make the bread myself. And sometimes when I go somewhere else to eat it and don’t have to cook. But my husband says this tastes better than any restaurant cheesy garlic bread that he’s ever had. Which, I might add, is probably the biggest compliment in the world, considering he prides himself on having tried everything and anything.

I cheated this time and used store bought garlic herb french bread from my local grocer. My husband and I like to have thick bread when eating cheesy garlic bread, and I find that it holds up better when you pile on the cheese. Before you get too far, be sure to pre-heat your oven to 425 degrees so you can get it nice and hot. I use my toaster oven for these puppies, they cook up a little quicker and it doesn’t heat up the entire house.

I generously covered both sides of the bread with margarine spread, garlic salt and Italian spices.

Now comes the best part (aside from eating it), the cheeeeeeese. I place a heaping handful of shredded cheese on top and press it down a bit to make sure it’s all the way to the edges without littering my baking sheet with it, what a waste! I like to use sliced mozzarella sometimes too, but today I didn’t have any on hand.

I like to put just a pinch of salt on top of each slice before placing them into the oven to bake. I like to think it’s bringing out a little more flavor from the cheese, it might just be in my head though!

Now it’s time to place your yummies in the oven and bake for 3-5 minutes at 425. But don’t walk away! Keep an eye on your oven to ensure even and proper baking. All ovens bake a little differently, and yours might take more or less time than I’ve suggested.  My little toaster oven has a hot spot in it and I need to rotate my baking sheet occasionally so I don’t char one slice and the others are undercooked…

We like our cheesy garlic bread browned and bubbly, so I turn the oven setting to  Broil for about 2 minutes if it’s not the way we like it by the time 4 minutes is up. It shouldn’t take any longer than that otherwise you’ll have completely crunchy bread, but maybe that’s how you like it!

done

I do believe they turned out awesome. Crunchy on the outside, soft and yummy on the inside. DELICIOUS! I like to serve these with pasta dishes or pizza, but they make an excellent appetizer. Certainly a crowd pleaser and really easy to make in large batches!

Here’s a recipe card for you!

I hope you get the chance to try this out soon, leave me a comment and let me know how yours turned out!

3 responses to “The Best Cheesy Garlic Bread Ever.

  1. I love homemade garlic bread, I always find shop-bought tastes a bit synthetic.

    • Fortunately, the grocer I bought the bread from is also a bakery and they make theirs fresh daily. They also use local farm grown & raised ingredients, so it’s a win-win really =)Thanks for reading!!

  2. Pingback: Slow Cooker Lasagna, perfect weeknight meal! | Ginny's Stitches n' Sweets

Leave a Reply

