Untraditional Potato Pancakes

There’s one thing my Grandma Ginny made well was latkes, also known as potato pancakes. It’s also one of my Dad’s favorites by his Mother, and out of the blue I decided to make them after talking with him one evening. They were a big success when I made them, and last night I wanted to try something a little different.

Image

I wanted to make breakfast for dinner. It’s kind of a staple in our house. Originally I was going to make eggs, potato pancakes and sausage patties. Then I thought, “why not put the sausage IN the pancakes?” Ding. Genius.

I, of course, did NOT make this decision until after I took my ingredients photo. HA!

Image

Brown and drain your pork sausage and set aside. While your sausage is browning, peel your potatoes and grate or finely chop your onions. {{Tip:I always use a plastic grocery bag in my mixing bowl that I’m going to be using to peel into and use for garbage!}}

Using a large bowl lined with a tea towel or cheese cloth, grate all of your peeled potatoes.

Wring out the potatoes over the sink until there’s no more liquid coming from the towel.

Image

Empty out the towel into the same bowl you were using before. Add your onions and sausage to the potatoes. Add in your beaten eggs, flour, milk, salt and pepper. You may need more salt and pepper, depending on your preferences. You may also need to add more flour to your mixture if it’s too wet. You’ll know it’s too wet if it won’t stick to itself, or if there’s excess liquid sitting in the bowl.

Image

In a large pan, heat 1/2 cup oil. Once the oil is hot, drop the mixture by heaping spoonfuls {I used two serving spoons to make it round and BIG} into the pan, pressing the spoonful down to flatten so it’s rather thin. This will help them cook evenly and faster.

Image

Fry each pancake until the edges are brown, this should only take a minute or two, and then flip them and do the same to the other side.

Image

Drain on paper towels and enjoy!

I think these are delicious with a little sour cream on top, yummy!

Also, if you’re doing a large batch or if you’d like to reheat them up later, heat your oven to 200° and bake for approximately 15 minutes. They might need a little longer, or if you have a toaster oven you could set it to the “Toast” setting and go for the same amount of time around 300°, and they’ll be just as tasty as the first time!

Image

Have you ever made potato pancakes before? If you have, what was your recipe? Share your thoughts! 🙂

One response to “Untraditional Potato Pancakes

  1. cookingwithsapana

    Hi , I have nominated you for Versatile Blogger Award.Check it out here
    http://cookingwithsapana.wordpress.com/737-2/
    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

